

## **HSBC HOLDINGS PLC**

## 3 November 2023

## Response to voting results at 2023 Annual General Meeting

In accordance with Provision 4 of the UK Corporate Governance Code, we are providing an update on our statement of 5 May 2023 regarding the results of the poll vote at the 2023 Annual General Meeting ("AGM") on resolutions 2, 3(I), 6, 7, 14 and 15 which received votes of between 20.04% - 23.30% against the Board's recommendations.

In our statement of 5 May 2023, it was noted that our largest shareholder, Ping An, voted against the Board's recommendations on the above resolutions and a number of others. Ping An's votes accounted for approximately 18-19% of all votes cast at the AGM based on a turnout of around 50%.

The Board was pleased that a large majority of shareholders voting at the AGM supported HSBC's strategy and since the AGM there have been no concerns expressed by shareholders regarding the above resolutions. We continue to have constructive dialogue and provide corporate access to all our institutional shareholders, including Ping An and respect and listen to their views.

As at the time of this announcement, the following are Directors of the Company: Mark Tucker\*, Noel Quinn, Geraldine Buckingham†, Rachel Duan†, Georges Elhedery, Carolyn Julie Fairbairn†, James Anthony Forese†, Ann Godbehere†, Steven Guggenheimer†, José Antonio Meade Kuribreña†, Kalpana Morparia†, Eileen K Murray†, Brendan Nelson†, David Nish† and Swee Lian Teo†.

- \* Non-executive Group Chairman
- † Independent non-executive Director

For and on behalf of **HSBC Holdings plc** 

Aileen Taylor Group Company Secretary and Chief Governance Officer