The following is the text of an announcement released to the Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited on 20 February 2018 pursuant to rule 13.51(2) of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited:

Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this document, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this document.



20 February 2018

(Hong Kong Stock Code: 5)

HSBC Holdings plc (the "Company")

Retirement of Group Chief Executive

As announced on 12 October 2017, John Flint will succeed Stuart Gulliver as Group Chief Executive on 21 February 2018. Stuart Gulliver will retire from the Board of the Company on 20 February 2018. In accordance with 13.51(2) of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited, the Company confirms that there are no further matters which need to be brought to the attention of shareholders of the Company in connection with Stuart Gulliver's retirement from the Board.

For and on behalf of the Board

Ben J S Mathews Group Company Secretary

The Board of Directors of HSBC Holdings plc as at the date of this announcement are: Mark Tucker*, Stuart Gulliver, Phillip Ameen[†], Kathleen Casey[†], Laura Cha[†], Henri de Castries[†], Lord Evans of Weardale[†], Joachim Faber[†], Irene Lee[†], John Lipsky[†], Iain Mackay, Heidi Miller[†], Marc Moses, David Nish[†], Jonathan Symonds[†], Jackson Tai[†] and Pauline van der Meer Mohr[†].

* Non-executive Group Chairman

[†] Independent non-executive Director