Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this document, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this document.



11 September 2017

(Hong Kong Stock Code: 5)

HSBC HOLDINGS PLC

SECOND INTERIM DIVIDEND FOR 2017

On 31 July 2017, the Directors of HSBC Holdings plc declared the second interim dividend for 2017 of US\$0.10 per ordinary share. The dividend is payable on 20 September 2017 to holders of record on 4 August 2017 on the Principal Register in the United Kingdom or the Hong Kong Overseas Branch Register or the Bermuda Overseas Branch Register. The dividend is payable in cash in United States dollars, sterling or Hong Kong dollars, or a combination of these currencies, and with a scrip dividend alternative.

Dividends payable in cash in Hong Kong dollars or sterling will be converted from United States dollars at the forward exchange rates quoted by HSBC Bank plc in London at or about 11.00 am on 11 September 2017 (US\$1=HK\$7.812820 and £1=US\$1.319775). Accordingly, the cash dividend payable on 20 September 2017 will be:

US\$0.10 per share;

approximately HK\$0.781282 per share; or

approximately £0.075770 per share.

For holders of American Depositary Shares ('ADSs'), each of which represents five ordinary shares, the cash dividend payable will be US\$0.50 per ADS. It will be paid on 20 September 2017. The dividend for participants in the dividend reinvestment plan, operated by the Bank of New York Mellon, will be invested in additional ADSs.

For and on behalf of **HSBC Holdings plc**

Ben J S Mathews
Group Company Secretary

The Board of Directors of HSBC Holdings plc as at the date of this announcement are: Douglas Flint, Stuart Gulliver, Phillip Ameen[†], Kathleen Casey[†], Laura Cha[†], Henri de Castries[†], Lord Evans of Weardale[†], Joachim Faber[†], Irene Lee[†], John Lipsky[†], Iain Mackay, Heidi Miller[†], Marc Moses, David Nish[†], Jonathan Symonds[†], Jackson Tai[†], Mark Tucker[†] and Pauline van der Meer Mohr[†].

† Independent non-executive Director

HSBC Holdings plc