Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this document, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this document.



27 April 2017

(Hong Kong Stock Code: 5)

## HSBC Holdings plc HSBC BOARD CHANGE OF RESPONSIBILITIES

The attached announcement is being released to all the stock exchanges on which HSBC Holdings plc is listed.

For and on behalf of **HSBC Holdings plc** 

Ben J S Mathews Group Company Secretary

The Board of Directors of HSBC Holdings plc as at the date of this announcement are: Douglas Flint, Stuart Gulliver, Phillip Ameen<sup>†</sup>, Kathleen Casey<sup>†</sup>, Laura Cha<sup>†</sup>, Henri de Castries<sup>†</sup>, Lord Evans of Weardale<sup>†</sup>, Joachim Faber<sup>†</sup>, Sam Laidlaw<sup>†</sup>, Irene Lee<sup>†</sup>, John Lipsky<sup>†</sup>, Rachel Lomax<sup>†</sup>, Iain Mackay, Heidi Miller<sup>†</sup>, Marc Moses, David Nish<sup>†</sup>, Jonathan Symonds<sup>†</sup>, Jackson Tai<sup>†</sup> and Pauline van der Meer Mohr<sup>†</sup>.

<sup>†</sup> Independent non-executive Director



27 April 2017

## HSBC BOARD CHANGE OF RESPONSIBILITIES

On 21 February, HSBC Holdings plc (HSBC) announced in its 2016 Annual Report that Sam Laidlaw and Rachel Lomax will retire from the Board of HSBC at the conclusion of the Annual General Meeting (AGM) on 28 April. As a consequence of their retirement, the following Board changes have been approved today and will take place with effect from the conclusion of the 2017 AGM:

- Jonathan Symonds (58) has been appointed as senior independent nonexecutive Director to succeed Rachel Lomax. Jonathan will also replace Sam Laidlaw and serve as interim chair of the Nomination Committee until 1 September at which point, as previously announced, Mark Tucker will join HSBC as Group Chairman designate and assume the chairmanship of this committee;
- Pauline Van der Meer Mohr (57) has been appointed as chair of the Group Remuneration Committee to succeed Sam Laidlaw and as chair of the Conduct & Values Committee to succeed Rachel Lomax.

Additionally, from the conclusion of the 2017 AGM, Jackson Tai (66) has been appointed as chair of the Group Risk Committee to succeed Joachim Faber who remains on the Committee as a member.

There are no further matters relating to the retirement of Mr Laidlaw and Ms Lomax that need to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of HSBC.

For and on behalf of HSBC Holdings plc B J S Mathews Group Company Secretary

more

## Media enquiries to:

Morgan Bone +44 (0) 20 7991 1898 <u>morgan.bone@hsbc.com</u>

Notes to editors:

1. The Board of Directors of HSBC Holdings plc as at the date of this announcement is:

D J Flint, S T Gulliver, P D Ameen<sup>†</sup>, K L Casey<sup>†</sup>, L M L Cha<sup>†</sup>, H R M A de la Croix de Castries <sup>†</sup>, Lord Evans of Weardale<sup>†</sup>, J Faber<sup>†</sup>, W S H Laidlaw<sup>†</sup>, I Y L Lee<sup>†</sup>, J P Lipsky<sup>†</sup>, J R Lomax<sup>†</sup>, I J Mackay, H Miller<sup>†</sup>, M M Moses, D T Nish<sup>†</sup>, J R Symonds<sup>†</sup>, J P Tai<sup>†</sup>, and P F M Van der Meer Mohr<sup>†</sup>.

† Independent non-executive Director

## 2. The HSBC Group

HSBC Holdings plc, the parent company of the HSBC Group, is headquartered in London. The Group serves customers worldwide from around 4,000 offices in 70 countries and territories in Asia, Europe, North and Latin America, and the Middle East and North Africa. With assets of US\$2,375bn at 31 December 2016, HSBC is one of the world's largest banking and financial services organisations.

ends/all