The following is the text of an announcement released to the Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited on 22 September 2016 pursuant to rule 17.06A of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited:

Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this document, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this document.



22 September 2016

(Hong Kong Stock Code: 5)

HSBC HOLDINGS PLC

GRANT OF SHARE OPTIONS

This announcement is made pursuant to rule 17.06A of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited.

On 21 September 2016 HSBC Holdings plc (the "Company") granted share options ("Options") to employees to subscribe for a total of 15,043,601 ordinary shares of US\$0.50 each of the Company under the HSBC Holdings Savings-Related Share Option Plan. The following are the details of the grant:

Price at which the Options granted	Option Period	Number of shares under Option
GBP 4.4037	3 years 5 years	11,565,808 3,477,793
Total number of options granted	15,043,601	
Closing price of the ordinary shares on the date of grant	GBP 5.8870	
Validity period of the Options	3 years, exercisable from 1 November 2019 to 30 April 2020 5 years, exercisable from 1 November 2021 to 30 April 2022	

There were no options granted to any director of the Company.

For and on behalf of **HSBC Holdings plc**

Ben J S Mathews Group Company Secretary

The Board of Directors of HSBC Holdings plc as at the date of this announcement are: Douglas Flint, Stuart Gulliver, Phillip Ameen[†], Kathleen Casey[†], Laura Cha[†], Henri de Castries[†], Lord Evans of Weardale[†], Joachim Faber[†], Sam Laidlaw[†], Irene Lee[†], John Lipsky[†], Rachel Lomax[†], Iain Mackay, Heidi Miller[†], Marc Moses, David Nish[†], Jonathan Symonds[†], Jackson Tai[†], Pauline van der Meer Mohr[†] and Paul Walsh[†].

[†] Independent non-executive Director