Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this document, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this document.



27 June 2016

(Hong Kong Stock Code: 5)

HSBC HOLDINGS PLC

FIRST INTERIM DIVIDEND FOR 2016

On 3 May 2016, the Directors of HSBC Holdings plc declared the first interim dividend for 2016 of US\$0.10 per ordinary share. The dividend is payable on 6 July 2016 to holders of record on 20 May 2016 on the Principal Register in the United Kingdom or the Hong Kong Overseas Branch Register or the Bermuda Overseas Branch Register. The dividend is payable in cash in United States dollars, sterling or Hong Kong dollars, or a combination of these currencies, and with a scrip dividend alternative.

Dividends payable in cash in Hong Kong dollars or sterling will be converted from United States dollars at the forward exchange rates quoted by HSBC Bank plc in London at or about 11.00 am on 27 June 2016 (US\$1=HK\$7.757455 and £1=US\$1.325890). Accordingly, the cash dividend payable on 6 July 2016 will be:

US\$0.10 per share;

approximately HK\$0.775746 per share; or

approximately £0.075421 per share.

For holders of American Depositary Shares ('ADSs'), each of which represents five ordinary shares, the cash dividend payable will be US\$0.50 per ADS. It will be paid on 6 July 2016. The dividend for participants in the dividend reinvestment plan, operated by the Bank of New York Mellon, will be invested in additional ADSs.

For and on behalf of **HSBC Holdings plc**

Ben J S Mathews Group Company Secretary

The Board of Directors of HSBC Holdings plc as at the date of this announcement are: Douglas Flint, Stuart Gulliver, Phillip Ameen[†], Kathleen Casey[†], Laura Cha[†], Henri de Castries[†], Lord Evans of Weardale[†], Joachim Faber[†], Sam Laidlaw[†], Irene Lee[†], John Lipsky[†], Rachel Lomax[†], Iain Mackay, Heidi Miller[†], Marc Moses, David Nish[†], Jonathan Symonds[†], Pauline van der Meer Mohr[†] and Paul Walsh[†].

[†] Independent non-executive Director