HSBC Holdings plc Poll results of 2016 Annual General Meeting 22 April 2016

HSBC Holdings plc (the "Company") announces that at its Annual General Meeting ("AGM") held on 22 April 2016, all resolutions as set out in the Notice of AGM were passed on a poll.

Resolutions 1 to 7 and 9, 11 and 13 were passed as ordinary resolutions and resolutions 8, 10, 12 and 14 were passed as special resolutions.

The following table shows the votes cast on each resolution:

Resolution	Total Votes For (%)	Total Votes Against (%)	Votes Total (% of Issued Share Capital)	Votes Withheld
1. To receive the Annual Report and Accounts 2015	9,154,216,064	118,324,770	9,272,540,834	13,189,750
	(98.72)	(1.28)	(46.80)	
2. To approve the Directors' Remuneration Report	8,327,033,672	875,494,490	9,202,528,162	54,280,789
	(90.49)	(9.51)	(46.45)	
3. To approve the Directors' Remuneration Policy	8,887,168,002	365,908,568	9,253,076,570	35,165,873
	(96.05)	(3.95)	(46.71)	
4. (a) To elect Henri de Castries as a	9,036,020,806	164,944,153	9,200,964,959	85,780,061

Director	(98.21)	(1.79)	(46.44)	
(b) To elect Irene Lee as a Director	8,424,792,622	745,311,929	9,170,104,551	117,617,404
	(91.87)	(8.13)	(46.29)	
(c) To elect Pauline van der Meer Mohr as a Director	9,268,706,466	10,074,518	9,278,780,984	8,893,343
	(99.89)	(0.11)	(46.84)	
(d) To elect Paul Walsh as a Director	8,289,098,071	800,497,172	9,089,595,243	198,068,728
	(91.19)	(8.81)	(45.88)	
(e) To re-elect Phillip Ameen as a Director	9,253,537,360	25,260,020	9,278,797,380	8,965,640
	(99.73)	(0.27)	(46.84)	
(f) To re-elect Kathleen Casey as a	9,266,065,266	12,943,282	9,279,008,548	8,744,839
Director	(99.86)	(0.14)	(46.84)	
(g) To re-elect Laura Cha as a Director	9,218,101,574	60,856,527	9,278,958,101	8,795,321
	(99.34)	(0.66)	(46.84)	
(h) To re-elect Lord Evans of Weardale as a Director	9,265,254,769	13,512,352	9,278,767,121	8,932,517
	(99.85)	(0.15)	(46.84)	
(i) To re-elect Joachim Faber as a Director	9,260,916,223	17,919,204	9,278,835,427	8,919,426

(99.81)	(0.19)	(46.84)	
8,998,928,412	280,100,277	9,279,028,689	8,709,973
(96.98)	(3.02)	(46.84)	
9,253,402,995	25,911,740	9,279,314,735	8,364,544
(99.72)	(0.28)	(46.84)	
9,216,648,451	62,089,125	9,278,737,576	9,019,067
(99.33)	(0.67)	(46.84)	
9,264,179,944	14,635,389	9,278,815,333	8,898,565
(99.84)	(0.16)	(46.84)	
9,250,707,404	28,261,451	9,278,968,855	8,727,054
(99.70)	(0.30)	(46.84)	
9,227,065,146	51,802,142	9,278,867,288	8,819,797
(99.44)	(0.56)	(46.84)	
9,254,736,797	24,264,798	9,279,001,595	8,764,544
(99.74)	(0.26)	(46.84)	
9,221,715,964	56,846,690	9,278,562,654	9,184,419
	8,998,928,412 (96.98) 9,253,402,995 (99.72) 9,216,648,451 (99.33) 9,264,179,944 (99.84) 9,250,707,404 (99.70) 9,227,065,146 (99.44) 9,254,736,797 (99.74)	8,998,928,412 280,100,277 (96.98) (3.02) 9,253,402,995 25,911,740 (99.72) (0.28) 9,216,648,451 62,089,125 (99.33) (0.67) 9,264,179,944 14,635,389 (99.84) (0.16) 9,250,707,404 28,261,451 (99.70) (0.30) 9,227,065,146 51,802,142 (99.44) (0.56) 9,254,736,797 24,264,798 (99.74) (0.26)	8,998,928,412280,100,2779,279,028,689(96.98)(3.02)(46.84)9,253,402,99525,911,7409,279,314,735(99.72)(0.28)(46.84)9,216,648,45162,089,1259,278,737,576(99.33)(0.67)(46.84)9,264,179,94414,635,3899,278,815,333(99.84)(0.16)(46.84)9,250,707,40428,261,4519,278,968,855(99.70)(0.30)(46.84)9,227,065,14651,802,1429,278,867,288(99.44)(0.56)(46.84)9,254,736,79724,264,7989,279,001,595(99.74)(0.26)(46.84)

	(99.39)	(0.61)	(46.83)	
(r) To re-elect Jonathan Symonds as a Director	9,149,707,382	128,746,518	9,278,453,900	9,239,014
	(98.61)	(1.39)	(46.83)	
5. To re-appoint PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP as Auditor of the Company	9,161,731,019	25,672,034	9,187,403,053	99,747,785
	(99.72)	(0.28)	(46.37)	
6. To authorise the Group Audit Committee to determine the remuneration of the Auditor	9,274,552,252	10,102,658	9,284,654,910	3,448,685
	(99.89)	(0.11)	(46.87)	
7. To authorise the Directors to allot shares	8,719,159,314	563,843,634	9,283,002,948	5,024,358
	(93.93)	(6.07)	(46.86)	
8. To disapply pre-emption rights	8,614,009,191	622,056,145	9,236,065,336	51,642,538
	(93.26)	(6.74)	(46.62)	
9. To authorise the Directors to allot any repurchased shares	8,936,802,674	346,254,585	9,283,057,259	5,050,481
	(96.27)	(3.73)	(46.86)	
10. To authorise the Company to purchase its own ordinary shares	9,189,755,636	90,782,302	9,280,537,938	6,330,590
	(99.02)	(0.98)	(46.84)	
11. To authorise the Directors to allot equity securities in relation to Contingent	8,951,098,209	316,934,084	9,268,032,293	18,844,904

Convertible Securities	(96.58)	(3.42)	(46.78)	
12. To disapply pre-emption rights in relation to the issue of Contingent Convertible Securities	8,074,155,476	1,192,709,351	9,266,864,827	19,690,306
	(87.13)	(12.87)	(46.78)	
13. To authorise the Directors to offer a scrip dividend alternative	9,250,777,737	32,119,414	9,282,897,151	5,341,974
	(99.65)	(0.35)	(46.86)	
 To approve general meetings (other than annual general meetings) being called on a 14 clear days' notice 	8,208,236,830	1,074,502,421	9,282,739,251	5,428,894
	(88.42)	(11.58)	(46.86)	

As at 12.01am (London time) on Thursday 21 April 2016, the total number of ordinary shares of US\$0.50 each eligible to be voted at the AGM was 19,811,397,683. In accordance with Rule 13.40 of the Hong Kong Listing Rules there were no shares entitling the holder to attend and abstain from voting in favour of any of the resolutions. No shareholder was required under the Hong Kong Listing Rules to abstain from voting. A 'vote withheld' is not a vote in law and is therefore not counted in the calculation of the proportion of the votes 'for' and 'against' a resolution.

Rona Fairhead and Sir Simon Robertson retired from the Board at the conclusion of the AGM. For the purposes of section 430(2B) of the Companies Act 2006, they will each receive their pro-rata entitlement to non-executive director fees for the month of April 2016. No payments for loss of office will be made to either of them.

Computershare Investor Services PLC acted as scrutineer of the poll on all resolutions.

Copies of the special business resolutions passed at the AGM have been submitted to the UK Listing Authority, and will shortly be available for inspection at the UK Listing Authority's National Storage Mechanism which is located at <u>http://www.hemscott.com/nsm.do</u>

Board of directors

Rachel Lomax stepped down from her role as a member of the Group Audit Committee with effect from 20 April 2016. Rachel continues to serve as the Senior Independent Director, chair of the Conduct & Values Committee and as a member of the Group Risk and Nomination committees.

Non-executive directors Pauline van der Meer Mohr and Paul Walsh join the Nomination Committee with effect from 22 April 2016 and 1 May 2016 respectively.

As at the time of this announcement, the following are Directors of the Company: Douglas Flint, Stuart Gulliver, Phillip Ameen[†], Kathleen Casey[†], Laura Cha[†], Henri de Castries[†], Lord Evans of Weardale[†], Joachim Faber[†], Sam Laidlaw[†], Irene Lee[†], John Lipsky[†], Rachel Lomax[†], Iain Mackay, Heidi Miller[†], Marc Moses, Jonathan Symonds[†], Pauline van der Meer Mohr[†] and Paul Walsh[†].

[†] Independent non-executive Director

For and on behalf of **HSBC Holdings plc**

Ben J S Mathews Group Company Secretary