Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this document, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this document.



29 September 2014

(Hong Kong Stock Code: 5)

HSBC HOLDINGS PLC

SECOND INTERIM DIVIDEND FOR 2014

On 4 August 2014, the Directors of HSBC Holdings plc declared the second interim dividend for 2014 of US\$0.10 per ordinary share. The dividend is payable on 9 October 2014 to holders of record on 21 August 2014 on the Hong Kong Overseas Branch Register and on 22 August 2014 on the Principal Register or the Bermuda Overseas Branch Register. The dividend is payable in cash in United States dollars, sterling or Hong Kong dollars, or a combination of these currencies, and with a scrip dividend alternative.

Dividends payable in cash in sterling or Hong Kong dollars will be converted from United States dollars at the forward exchange rates quoted by HSBC Bank plc in London at or about 11.00 am on 29 September 2014 (US\$1=HK\$7.76532 and £1=US\$1.62279). Accordingly, the cash dividend payable on 9 October 2014 will be:

US\$0.10 per share:

approximately HK\$0.776532 per share; or

approximately £0.061622 per share.

For holders of American Depositary Shares ('ADSs'), each of which represents five ordinary shares, the cash dividend payable will be US\$0.50 per ADS. It will be paid on 9 October 2014. The dividend for participants in the dividend reinvestment plan, operated by the Bank of New York Mellon, will be invested in additional ADSs.

Ben J S Mathews Group Company Secretary HSBC Holdings plc

The Board of Directors of HSBC Holdings plc as at the date of this announcement are: Douglas Flint, Stuart Gulliver, Kathleen Casey[†], Safra Catz[†], Laura Cha[†], Sir Jonathan Evans[†], Joachim Faber[†], Rona Fairhead[†], Sam Laidlaw[†], John Lipsky[†], Rachel Lomax[†], Iain Mackay, Heidi Miller[†], Marc Moses, Sir Simon Robertson[†] and Jonathan Symonds[†].

HSBC Holdings plc

[†] Independent non-executive Director