Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this document, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this document.



2 December 2013

(Hong Kong Stock Code: 5)

HSBC HOLDINGS PLC

THIRD INTERIM DIVIDEND FOR 2013

On 7 October 2013, the Directors of HSBC Holdings plc declared the third interim dividend for 2013 of US\$0.10 per ordinary share. The dividend is payable on 11 December 2013 to holders of record on 24 October 2013 on the Hong Kong Overseas Branch Register and on 25 October 2013 on the Principal Register or the Bermuda Overseas Branch Register. The dividend is payable in cash in United States Dollars, Sterling or Hong Kong Dollars, or a combination of these currencies and with a scrip dividend alternative.

Dividends payable in cash in Sterling or Hong Kong Dollars will be converted from United States Dollars at the forward exchange rates quoted by HSBC Bank plc in London at or about 11.00 am on 2 December 2013 (US\$1=HK\$7.75237 and £1=US\$1.63892). Accordingly, the cash dividend payable on 11 December 2013 will be:

US\$0.10 per share;

approximately HK\$0.775237 per share; or

approximately £0.061016 per share.

For holders of American Depositary Shares ('ADSs'), each of which represents five ordinary shares, the cash dividend payable will be US\$0.50 per ADS. It will be paid on 11 December 2013 in United States Dollars or in new shares to those who have elected to receive the scrip dividend alternative. The dividend for participants in the dividend reinvestment plan, operated by the Bank of New York Mellon, will be invested in additional ADSs.

Ben J S Mathews Group Company Secretary HSBC Holdings plc

The Board of Directors of HSBC Holdings plc as at the date of this announcement are: D J Flint, S T Gulliver, S A Catz[†], L M L Cha[†], M K T Cheung[†], J D Coombe[†], Sir Jonathan Evans[†], J Faber[†], R A Fairhead[†], R Fassbind[†], J W J Hughes-Hallett[†], W S H Laidlaw[†], J P Lipsky[†], J R Lomax[†], I J Mackay and Sir Simon Robertson[†].

[†] Independent non-executive Director