Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this document, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this document.



The following is the text of an announcement released to the other stock exchanges on which HSBC Holdings plc is listed.

NOTIFICATION OF TRANSACTIONS OF PERSONS DISCHARGING MANAGERIAL RESPONSIBILITY AND/OR CONNECTED PERSONS

This notification relates to a transaction notified in accordance with DTR 3.1.2 R and 3.1.4 R (1)(a)

| 1 | Name of the issuer |
|---|---|
| | HSBC Holdings plc |
| 2 | Name of the person discharging managerial responsibilities or, where applicable, the name of the person connected with a person discharging managerial responsibilities |
| | R E T Bennett, a person discharging managerial responsibilities |
| 3 | Description of shares (including class), debentures, derivatives or any other financial instruments relating to shares |
| | US\$0.50 ordinary shares |
| 4 | State the nature of the transaction |
| | Acquisition / monthly contribution to HSBC Holdings UK Share Incentive Plan |
| 5 | Number of shares, derivatives or any other financial instruments relating to shares acquired |
| | 22 |
| 6 | Number of shares, derivatives or any other financial instruments relating to shares disposed |
| | N/A |
| 7 | Price per share or value of transaction |
| | £5.5765 |
| 8 | Date and place of transaction |
| | 28 August 2012, London |
| 9 | Date issuer informed of transaction |
| | |

| 10 | Name of duly authorised officer/official of issuer responsible for making notification |
|----|--|
| | Steve Owen, Assistant Secretary, 020 7991 3879 |
| 11 | Date of notification |
| | 30 August 2012 |

The Board of Directors of HSBC Holdings plc as at the date of this announcement are: D J Flint, S T Gulliver, S A Catz[†], L M L Cha[†], M K T Cheung[†], J D Coombe[†], J Faber[†], R A Fairhead[†], J W J Hughes-Hallett[†], W S H Laidlaw[†], J P Lipsky[†], J R Lomax[†], I J Mackay, N R N Murthy[†], Sir Simon Robertson[†] and J L Thornton[†].

† Independent non-executive Director

Hong Kong Stock Code: 5