The following is the text of an announcement released to The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited on 17 April 2012 pursuant to Rule 13.43 of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited:

Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this document, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this document.

(Hong Kong Stock Code: 5)

HSBC HOLDINGS PLC

FIRST INTERIM DIVIDEND FOR 2012

Pursuant to Rule 13.43 of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited, notice is given that a meeting of Directors of HSBC Holdings plc will be held on Monday, 30 April 2012 to consider the declaration of a first interim dividend for 2012.

By Order of the Board R G Barber Group Company Secretary

17 April 2012

The Board of Directors of HSBC Holdings plc as at the date of this announcement are: D J Flint, S T Gulliver, S A Catz † , L M L Cha † , M K T Cheung † , J D Coombe † , J Faber † , R A Fairhead † , A A Flockhart, J W J Hughes-Hallett † , W S H Laidlaw † , J P Lipsky † , J R Lomax † , I J Mackay, G Morgan † , N R N Murthy † , Sir Simon Robertson † , J L Thornton † and Sir Brian Williamson † .

† Independent non-executive Director