Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this document, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this document.



CANCELLATION OF NON-VOTING DEFERRED SHARES AND ISSUE OF ONE SERIES A STERLING PREFERENCE SHARE

As part of a technical internal capital reorganisation necessitated by the amended EU Capital Requirements Directive 2, which will apply from 31 December 2010, HSBC Holdings plc will cancel its 301,500 non-voting deferred shares of £1 each, which are currently held by a wholly owned subsidiary.

To facilitate the cancellation of the deferred shares and comply with the provisions of the Companies (Authorised Minimum) Regulations 2009 the Company has issued one Series A Sterling Preference Share of $\pounds 0.01$ for $\pounds 1.00$.

None of the above has an impact on the Company's reported Tier 1 capital ratio, which at 30 September 2010 was 12.1%.

By order of the Board

R G Barber Group Company Secretary

29 December 2010

The Board of Directors of HSBC Holdings plc as at the date of this announcement are: D J Flint, M F Geoghegan, S A Catz[†], V H C Cheng, M K T Cheung[†], J D Coombe[†], R A Fairhead[†], A A Flockhart, S T Gulliver, J W J Hughes-Hallett[†], W S H Laidlaw[†], J R Lomax[†], I J Mackay, G Morgan[†], N R N Murthy[†], Sir Simon Robertson[†], J L Thornton[†] and Sir Brian Williamson[†].

† Independent non-executive Director

Hong Kong Stock Code: 5